Srike and Heal?

“The LORD will strike Egypt with a plague; he will strike them and heal them. They will turn to the LORD, and he will respond to their pleas and heal them.” Isaiah 19:22

Bible Reading Isaiah 18-20

When the going gets tough, how do you react?
In these chapters we read prophecies for the land of Cush and Egypt.
These are enemies of Israel and the Lord has prophecied against them who have many other gods. We all very well know Egypt’s reputation of having different gods and with the 10 plagues in Exodus we get an idea that even frogs, flies and the like are also considered gods in their highly superstitious nation. However, we would find something interesting in Isaiah chapter 19, about God’s judgment over Egypt. It is expected that the Lord is a righteous God and He is wise in his judgments as we can read all the wrath that is upon them, but why heal Egypt? Why respond to their pleas and heal them. Aren’t they enemies of His chosen people? They don’t deserve any healing.

It is amazing how God works out his plans in our lives. There had been many times in my life when affliction is unbearable (at least in my own opinion) and I know for sure that these can be consequences of my shortcomings (some are not, for they are trials), but at the end of the day, I can say that God is in control, He allowed these things for a purpose, as He works out His plans for those who love Him. The response should be to draw near to Him, for in our own strength, we can never prevail. The wonderful thing is, He draws near to those who turn their eyes on Him. He is a compassionate God always looking for people who would humble themselves and find rest in Him. those who desire Him will truly never be left unsatisfied.

Prayer:
Lord, I may never understand fully all your ways, but I do understand that your righteousness allows me to learn the hard way, so I would seek you and run back to you when I have gone astray. Please help me to always humble myself and seek you for in you there is healing and rest.

Leave a comment